Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

Do you find yourself checking up on your pup to make sure they’re still alive?

As a puppy Lola wanted to sleep in our bed and always found a way to squeeze in there.

As a puppy Lola wanted to sleep in our bed and always found a way to squeeze in there.

 

Our rescue puppies were both so small when we got them it wasn’t even a question if they’re allowed to sleep in the bed, it was a matter of survival.

And because of that I find myself checking up on the pup, driven by the worry that something might have happened while I was asleep:

 

Could I squash my pet in my sleep?

I also have pet rats, and while most will go back to their cage for a good night’s rest, some of them enjoy sleeping in my bed. It’s really wonderful, they cuddle up around my feet and keep me nice and snug and warm.

But they are tiny and fragile, and for a while I was worried I could somehow squash them in my sleep.

When however in the very unlikely event of an earthquake my pet rat decided to wake me, I realised that we forget how much more animals are in tune with their environment:

If my pet rat can sense an earthquake coming, early enough to clamber onto the bed and wake me, surely they can sense if I’m about to turn around in my sleep.

 

Puppies too will simply move out of the way. As they tend to squeak ahead of potential danger, they probably wake you if they’re in any discomfort.

I learned to wake up right away if there are any puppy noises, usually it means it’s time for a toilet break.

But at least when it’s about falling asleep again, I can rest assured that it is very unlikely to accidentally harm your pet while sleeping. 🙂

 

Tags: , , ,

