Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

 

I love photography. I love rats.

 

So I do #PortRATure: www.flickr.com/photos/trulyjuly/collections/72157675420886104. 😉

 

I take portRATures of my own ratties, when I ratsit, when I get commissioned.

 

And every now and then I do a proper photo shoot with props and all:

Rattical Valentine's

Rattical Valentine’s

 

And every now and then I get a wow awesome shot:

Rattie Sisters

Rattie Sisters

 

But does anyone actually have an idea how hard it is to take photos of rats?

 

Because, my gosh, these guys are fast! And they are curious! And they are skittish!

 

The only way to get a good shot is to gain their trust and get them to relax, which in rattie world is still only a fraction of the time actually needed for a good photo.

 

For every one picture that is acceptable, there are multitudes of photo bombs, blurs, moving out of frame or completely disappearing, accidental pees or poos, dismantling of sets and props, and general chaos.

 

But of course, that’s why we love our pet rats: Because they have their own mind and do their own thing, and often end up in funny or surprising situations you couldn’t have made up: Rats make great pets! 🙂

 

Follow Rats Make Great Pets on Facebook and on Google+. 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , ,

