Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

Yum! I love drinking milk.

Yum! I love drinking milk.

 

I love my coffee and tea in the morning. Yes, often I have my coffee with my tea, like drinking double-handed. But one thing that can really spoil the delight of my hot beverage is: If there’s no milk.

 

Now that I’m trying the Low FODMAP diet to relieve my IBS, I’m not allowed lactose.

 

What is a good alternative to milk?

 

Lactose-free milk

Of course there’s lactose-free milk, which has all the benefits of regular milk, just that the lactose has been pre-digested into glucose and galactose by adding the enzyme lactase to milk. It might unfortunately be difficult to come by or more expensive than normal milk, and it is not vegan.

 

Soy milk

Unfortunately with all the GMO and unwanted additives, Soya milk is to be considered carefully and is not an alternative for me.

 

Hemp milk

Hemp seeds are high in omega-3 fatty acids and protein, but don’t provide enough calcium. I have no clue where to buy this, please comment on this blog post if you have more info.

 

Rice milk

Rice milk is high in carbohydrates, and doesn’t contain lactose or cholesterol.  As I’m already eating a lot of rice, I’ve decided against also drinking it for breakfast.

 

Almond milk

Almond milk offers not as much calcium as cow’s milk, but with 30% of the recommended daily amount, as well as 25% of the recommended amount of vitamin D, and a low carbohydrate content it’s a healthy alternative. Avoid any almond milk that contains Carrageenan.

 

Coconut milk

Coconut milk has a high proportion of medium-chain triglycerides, a type of fatty acids that is metabolism boosting and thus increases the energy expenditure. This helps to fill up and curb overeating or snacking throughout the day. It provides enough iron to prevent anemia. Coconut milk nourishes the digestive lining with its electrolytes and healthy fats, improving gut health and reducing IBS.

Therefore, my preferred choice of milk alternative for the Low FODMAP diet.

 

Tags: ,

