Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

MJ has been ill for a while, but always kept her spirits high. When she felt poorly in the morning, I wrapped her in a blankie and put her in a scarf around my neck. 3 hours later this was where she took her last breath...

MJ has been ill for a while, but always kept her spirits high. When she felt poorly in the morning, I wrapped her in a blankie and put her in a scarf around my neck. 3 hours later she took her last breath…

 

It’s the only cruel thing they do to us: Die way too early.

 

Pet rats don’t live long. 2 to 3 years is their life expectancy.

 

If it’s true that we all get a certain amount of energy to live up, it could be understandable why rats live a short life: They are just so full of beans!

To me their tininess and their lively presence in the room never add up. How can such a small animal have such a big personality?

And it is of course their unique character that leaves such a gaping hole when they pass on.
What makes it so difficult to cope with your rattie dying is that they are real fighters. They fight for their life.

Rats are healers. I’ve seen rats recover from a ripped-off tail with a neatly tidied up stump, all on their own accord. So normally you can trust your rat to look after themselves well.

But there comes a moment in a rat’s life when that energy that keeps them strong-minded and thinking big simply runs out.

Then the cancer explodes or the respiratory illness chokes or that infection just won’t go away.
It’s as if the illness is mastering up its greatest evil to finally force the rattie to succumb to it.

 

This is the time in your rattie’s life when you need to decide when to release your pet rat from the suffering.

Sometimes it can go very quick and your rat passes before you’re ready to accept their fate.

Sometimes you know that it’s time and you can be by their side as they go to the Rainbow Bridge.

And sometimes the struggle for life can be so harsh that it is the humane thing to end it.

Hopefully by then you know of a good vet you can trust.

 

When my ratties are feeling poorly I make a point of keeping them close, so I experienced it a couple of times that my rattie died in my arms. It’s the strangest moment, when the spirit leaves and all that remains in your hands is the body.

And again I’m being left wondering how such a small little animal can be the source of so much love and joy.

Their personality by far outlives their lifespan.

There are still so many memories I haven’t shared yet, they can fill an entire book.

And while I can’t stop thinking: ‘Too short!’, I know these little critters are going to live on much much longer. In our hearts. ♥

 

Tags: , ,

