Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

The variety of pet rats: Both are fully grown ratties, but Peaches is so much smaller than MJ!

The variety of pet rats: Both are fully grown ratties, but Peaches is so much smaller than MJ!

Whenever you hear a story about a wild rat encounter, the rat seems to grow in size.

I’ve had pet rats for over 20 years, including a wildie, who is not bigger than your typical fancy rat. I’ve also had my fair share of wild rat encounters, especially as I’m actually watching out for them.

From a wild rat running alongside me as I cycled on the London canal to the most recent encounter of a female wildie on our construction site: I’ve never encountered a rat that was as big as they’re made out to be.

However, I did get a good perspective on the size of rats when #RatSitting Louna, Peaches and Rosie.

Rosie is still a baby so understandably small, but she is so tiny, she looks like a mouse!

Cutsie Rosie is a baby rat, but so tiny still, she could be a mouse!

Cutsie Rosie is a baby rat, but so tiny still, she could be a mouse!

Louna and Peaches are both fully grown pet rats. I haven’t seen ratties this small before. Of course they’re nothing short of the big personality so typical for rats. Especially Louna carries an air of grandness around her, as she’s the alpha rat – in her clan at least.

The question was: would MJ accept that, as this is her territory.

Usually after some time of sharing the same space, there’s a good chance pet rats from different backgrounds get along just fine.

But when I realised the size difference between MJ and Louna, even trying to see if they behave friendly was out of the question: I was too worried Louna could get hurt, even if it’s just play fighting – MJ is twice her size!

I never thought of MJ as particularly big, she has the most velvety, soft and thick to nuzzle fur and is great to cuddle.

Seeing her next to Louna I realised why people think of rats as such big animals:

– Where a mouse looks small enough to pass as cute, a rat looks big in comparison.

– And I guess while it’d sound really lame to be afraid of a mouse, having a shock story about a huge monster rat is totally acceptable.

However, there’s always some truth to rumours, and it seems rats, just like humans, are increasing in size thanks to junk food.

So when you come across a wild rat, remember that however big or monstrous you might perceive them, this too is our fault, the human’s, not the animal’s.

#GiveRatsAChance #RatsMakeGreatPets

Follow RatsMakeGreatPets: www.facebook.com/RatsMakeGreatPets 🙂

Tags: , , ,

