Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

Cape Town is excellent for cycling. But it took a few obstacles to overcome to get back into bicycle commuting.

A bike runs on fat and saves you money. A car runs on money and makes you fat.

A bike runs on fat and saves you money. – A car runs on money and makes you fat.

In Europe I cycled everywhere.

As teenagers it was the only truly independent way to get around and as adults it’s the perfect alternative to drink and driving.

Plus it’s a fantastic exercise, not only for free, but even saving you money on transport.

So when I came to Cape Town I was eager to continue cycling.

However, cycling is seen very differently here:

It’s either a sport or dangerous.

For me cycling is not a sport. It’s a form of transport. I want to get from A to B swiftly and in most cities this means cycling.

For me cycling is not dangerous. After 10 years of cycling in London, I developed a sixth sense that guides me around blind, sleepy or aggressive drivers and especially busses, taxis and white vans.

But in South Africa I was told about a different form of danger: That of crime and violence.

As everything was new to me in Africa, I listened to the ‘Cycling? Oh my god, that is so dangerous!’ comments at first.

I had left my steel steed in London anyway, thinking I could just buy myself a new bike.

Slowly though I got itchy enough to discard any projected fears and get back into cycling. For me, to commute by bike is a bliss I don’t want to miss. Plus, I was meeting more and more cycling enthusiasts who reassured me that cycling in Cape Town is ok.

But first there was another hurdle: Where to buy a bicycle in Cape Town?

In London we just went to Bricklane Market and got us a bike for like 70 quid. Maybe 100 for a real good mountain bike.

The mountain bikes you see in Cape Town are high octane super tuned with auto fitted GoPro. The only alternative are top notch super light and super fast racing bikes. But I was just looking for a normal bicycle!

There is so little demand for commuter bikes that they’re either unavailable or very expensive in Cape Town.

Luckily cycling is becoming more and more popular and it only takes a bit of asking around to find your perfect pedal match:

The Bicycling Empowerment Network (BEN) imports used bicycles from overseas and distributes them to low income areas, but you might be lucky and snatch one up for a good price.

In Woodstock a couple of awesome bicycle shops have sprung up that can be of help:

Cycletraders

Cycleworks

Starling & Hero Bicycle Café

And then of course there is good old Gumtree. While you must always watch out for scams on Gumtree you never know, you might just have one of those amazing encounters where you make friends with the previous owner or where you snatch up a wow bargain or stumble across a real treasure like I did when I found my classic beetle Mavis: https://www.facebook.com/BeetleMavis

Needless to say, I cycle everywhere in Cape Town now, too.

It’s an excellent city to get around by bike, as everything is close by. Of course it offers some challenging exercises with all the hills or well, mountain along the way. And yes, drivers need to wake up to the presence of cyclists, please.

But with green cycle lanes, fanwalk and separate cycle lanes from Sea Point Promenade to Table View, Cape Town is developing into a real cycle friendly city worth exploring on the back of a pedal-powered two-wheeler.

Tags: , , ,

