Skip to content

Yours *TrulyJuly*

I do everything content.

Did you know this? If you’re in no way connected to a person on FB and want to send them a message, you have to pay for it! Otherwise your message lands in the ‘Other’ folder. Ever checked your ‘Other’ folder?

Facebook’s Send Message Rip-off

If you don’t know how to call it, ‘Other’ will do…

Did you know this? If you’re in no way connected to a person on Facebook and want to send them a message, you have to pay for it! Otherwise your message lands in the ‘Other’ folder. Ever checked your ‘Other’ folder?

I understand that Facebook needs to make money. To let advertisers pay for sending a Facebook message is reasonable. And this might avert spammers.

But I have found messages in my ‘Other’ folder that were important. Who is Facebook to decide what lands in my inbox and what doesn’t?

Messages from pages I’ve liked don’t make it into my inbox. I thought that’s why I liked them, so I can be kept in the loop.

On top of it, Facebook does not allow me to customise my filter preferences for my messages. I can only choose between ‘basic’ and ‘strict’. ‘Basic’ left me with over 100 messages (‘99+’ to be precise, can’t they simply display the actual number?) in my ‘Other’ folder that I had no idea I had received. (Sorry that I’m a human being and only checked my inbox for new messages, how silly of me…)

I use Facebook for business too and am welcoming messages from people I have not yet connected with. How else can they introduce themselves? It used to be possible to add a message to a friend request and provide context of why you want to connect. Now this is not allowed unless you pay?

There are enough options to flag messages as spam. Not that any messages in my ‘Other’ folder were spam. So what is the benefit for me?

I know what’s definitely not cool for me: That I have to keep checking that ‘Other’ folder too from now on…

